What the $147M ALE-47 Countermeasure Dispenser Contract Buys a Supplier
Do you build circuit cards, connectors, housings, or test gear for airborne electronic warfare? The ALE-47 countermeasure dispenser contract announced August 28, 2026 is not a capture target. Symetrics Industries LLC, doing business as Extant Aerospace, is the named contractor. The vehicle covers line replaceable unit and shop replaceable unit production through August 27, 2032. No multiple-award designation appears alongside that single named contractor, which indicates a single-award vehicle. The government did not state the award structure. The acquisition drew two offers, and the losing bidder is not identified. Your realistic move is a supplier seat behind that contractor. Nearly every other ALE-47 vehicle has closed to new orders.
| Field | Answer |
|---|---|
| Signal | IDIQ FA8523-26-D-0001 for AN/ALE-47 LRU and SRU production, $147,310,777 maximum, announced August 28, 2026, one contractor named |
| BD implication | The ceiling rose from $39.7M to $147.3M while program ordering fell from $16.5M to about $2.5M a year, so the ceiling is weak evidence of demand |
| Customer | Air Force Life Cycle Management Center, Robins Air Force Base, Georgia, managing AN/ALE-47 as a joint program |
| Buyer | AFLCMC contracting activity at Robins AFB; Warner Robins Air Logistics Complex is the organic depot for Air Force, Army, and Navy hardware |
| Funding | Fiscal 2026 defense working capital funds, plus fiscal 2025 and fiscal 2026 aircraft procurement, Navy |
| Vehicle / path | Six-year IDIQ, one contractor named, Foreign Military Sales cited on each individual order, NAICS 334511 |
| Incumbents / ecosystem | Extant Aerospace holds the equivalent AFLCMC scope. Of six adjacent production and repair instruments (BAE Systems three, Roselm two, Science and Engineering Services one), only BAE’s Navy vehicle still takes orders, to July 30, 2027. TelePrime’s AFLCMC production vehicle closed in 2022; Georgia Tech holds dispenser engineering to July 2029 |
| Access strategy | Supplier position behind the named contractor; watch for the next Army or Navy dispenser solicitation |
| Timing | Vehicle runs to August 27, 2032; first task order size is the next observable event |
| Confidence | High on award terms and prior vehicle ceilings; moderate that the vehicle is single-award; moderate on the order-flow estimates |
| Pursuit posture | TEAM behind the named contractor; WATCH on the successor program; IGNORE FOR NOW for priming the AFLCMC legacy scope |
| Upgrade triggers | A first task order above the historical per-order range, or a funded Foreign Military Sales case with a named country and dollar value on a specific order |
| Downgrade triggers | A successor dispenser production award that begins displacing legacy LRU demand |
The Ceiling Rose 3.7 Times While Ordering Fell to a Sixth
The new ceiling is 3.7 times the one it replaces, and it arrived after two years of reduced ordering. The prior vehicle carried a $39,701,664 ceiling and expired June 24, 2024. The replacement was announced August 28, 2026. Across that gap, identified AN/ALE-47 obligations fell from roughly $16.5 million in fiscal 2024 to roughly $2.5 million in fiscal 2025, and $2.6 million in fiscal 2026 before this award. That is about a sixth of the prior rate. Those totals cover every recipient on the program, and are estimates that may understate program-wide obligations.
$1,813,528 of the $5,118,827 obligated is fiscal 2025 aircraft procurement money placed on contract in fiscal 2026. Expiring prior-year dollars landing on day one is what a deferred requirement tends to look like when it clears.
The sequence that produced this award:
- June 24, 2024: the prior production vehicle expired.
- January 2025: the contracting office posted its intent to solicit AN/ALE-47 dispenser hardware, roughly seven months later.
- August 28, 2026: the award was announced, about nineteen months after that posted intent.
- August 27, 2032: the end of the six-year performance period now in place.
No bridge production vehicle appears for that interval. Yet $2.5 million and $2.6 million were still obligated, so the requirement kept being supplied. Three explanations fit: deliveries against orders issued before the June 2024 expiry, an action recorded under a different description, or depot channels outside the FA8523 series. Carry the nineteen-month span into your planning, not an assumption that the line went dark.
Two Ceilings, Two Outcomes on the Same Program
The AN/ALE-47 program has already tested what its own ceiling predicts. The answer changed between generations. The 2015 vehicle carried a ceiling nearly five times its eventual orders. The 2021 vehicle carried one about a third above what it moved.
| Vehicle | Period | Ceiling | Identified orders | Share used |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FA8523-16-D-0002 | Dec 2015 to Dec 2020 | $124,563,250 | roughly $26.4M | roughly 21% |
| FA8523-21-D-0008 | Jun 2021 to Jun 2024 | $39,701,664 | roughly $29.5M | roughly 74% |
| FA8523-26-D-0001 | Aug 2026 to Aug 2032 | $147,310,777 | not yet ordered | not yet known |
Those order totals are estimates and may understate what each vehicle moved.
Narrow the lens to Extant Aerospace’s own orders and the pattern holds. Single orders have run between roughly $2.9 million and $7.9 million. Obligated order value averaged about $6.2 million a year from fiscal 2016 through fiscal 2024. It reached about $8.8 million in fiscal 2023 and about $12.7 million in fiscal 2024, its two strongest recent years. Project the long-run average across six years for a low case and the fiscal 2024 rate for a high case. The estimated range lands between roughly $37 million and $76 million.
Two limits sit on that band, and both push the true figure up. It rests on domestic order history alone, which excludes Foreign Military Sales demand. This vehicle contemplates such sales on every order across thirty-plus countries. Separately, the 2021 vehicle burned about 74% of a much smaller ceiling in three years. Near-exhaustion suggests that ceiling may have been binding, so past orders may measure a constraint rather than demand. The $37 million to $76 million band is better treated as a domestic-only floor than as a forecast of what this acquisition vehicle will carry.
Navy Money Under an Air Force Announcement
The contracting activity is an Air Force organization. The money is not. Of the $5,118,827 obligated, $4,014,214 is aircraft procurement, Navy, split across fiscal 2025 and fiscal 2026. The other $1,104,613 is fiscal 2026 defense working capital funds. Those funds pay for depot and supply chain replenishment, not new production quantities.
That funding structure locates where the demand originates:
- The AN/ALE-47 is a joint program. Warner Robins Air Logistics Complex is the organic depot for Air Force, Army, and Navy dispenser hardware and flight program software.
- Navy aviation appropriations, not Air Force ones, carried the opening obligation. A supplier modeling this as Air Force fighter demand watches the wrong budget line.
- Working capital funding points at spares for aircraft already flying, which behaves differently from buys tied to new aircraft.
The day-one appropriation mix names a customer the ceiling never mentions. The day-one funding mix points supplier attention toward Navy aviation sustainment and the Warner Robins depot rather than treating the requirement solely as Air Force fighter demand.
Nearly Every Other ALE-47 Vehicle Has Closed to New Orders
Other firms have primed ALE-47 work at other commands, under their own appropriations and contracting shops. Almost none still accepts orders.
- Science and Engineering Services took an Army delivery order for dispenser LRU components, $15.9 million obligated, running January 2021 to September 2024. It showed LRU work primed outside AFLCMC, and it has ended.
- BAE Systems Information and Electronic Systems Integration, a DIB prime, holds a Navy vehicle covering mission computers and the dispenser platform. Its ordering window runs through July 30, 2027. That is the only adjacent production or repair vehicle still taking orders.
- BAE’s earlier ALE-47 repair vehicle closed to orders in February 2024, and its AFLCMC engineering vehicle ended in September 2020.
- Roselm Industries produced dispenser breechplates under two Navy vehicles; the later closed to orders on July 31, 2025.
- TelePrime held an ALE-47 CMDS 4.0 production vehicle at this office from 2017 to 2022, with a $135,927,004 ceiling. The two vehicles cover differently described scopes, so their ceilings are not comparable.
- Georgia Tech Applied Research Corporation held a dedicated ALE-47 successor engineering contract that ran to May 2025, and holds a separate dispenser engineering contract running to July 2029.
Outside one Navy vehicle already held by BAE, open production ordering capacity now sits on the contract just awarded. Georgia Tech’s engineering support is the one other open thread, and it is not a production path. A successor program carries a 2021 solicitation number with no production award behind it. That concentration argues for a supplier seat rather than a prime bid. Treat the next Army or Navy dispenser solicitation as the reopening event.
Supply Chain Entry Is a Hypothesis, Not a Guarantee
The ALE-47 countermeasure dispenser contract leaves three groups with different moves:
- Small business defense electronics suppliers. The named contractor operates in Melbourne, Florida and produces the programmer, sequencer, safety switch, dispenser assembly, and control display unit. Map your part numbers against that set, then approach the operation as a DIB sub. This contractor’s external sourcing posture is undisclosed, and an incumbent OEM has no duty to qualify a new source. Qualification, quality approval, and export screening all gate entry. Treat supplier access as a hypothesis, not an open door.
- Mid-market firms with electronic warfare engineering depth. There is no open prime path here right now. Watch for the next Army or Navy dispenser solicitation, and for a successor program milestone or budget line.
- BD leads and capture leads at any firm. Compute the ceiling-to-obligation ratio before you size any vehicle. It costs nothing. Here it corrects a 3.7x misread.
Verify these before you commit business development spend:
- Confirm which of your part numbers map to the named dispenser units, and whether your quality approvals cover this application.
- Check any vehicle you hold for a gap between its expiry and its follow-on in the last 24 months.
- Identify whether your firm has past performance with the Warner Robins depot on any electronic warfare hardware.
- Confirm the ordering window on any adjacent vehicle before planning against it; five of six production and repair instruments above have closed.
FAQ
How much is the ALE-47 award actually worth to the awardee?
Domestic order history alone puts it between roughly $37 million and $76 million over six years, not the $147,310,777 ceiling. That band excludes Foreign Military Sales demand, so treat it as a floor. The first few task orders will test it.
Who owns the budget for AN/ALE-47 procurement?
Navy aviation appropriations funded most of the day-one obligation. Defense working capital funds covered the rest. The Air Force organization at Robins runs the program and awards the contract. That is why the money and the contracting shop sit in different services.
Can a firm still prime ALE-47 work before 2032?
Not on this vehicle, and not easily elsewhere. Of six adjacent Army, Navy and AFLCMC production and repair instruments, five have closed to new orders. The one still open runs to July 30, 2027 and BAE Systems holds it. Georgia Tech holds dispenser engineering work to July 2029, which is not a production path.
Which contracting shop should a supplier track for follow-on dispenser work?
Track the Air Force Life Cycle Management Center organization at Robins Air Force Base. It also holds the dispenser engineering contracts, including the successor work. Warner Robins Air Logistics Complex matters separately as the tri-service repair depot.
What would invalidate the $37 million to $76 million range?
A first task order well above the historical per-order range would invalidate it. So would a funded Foreign Military Sales case with a named country and a dollar value on a specific order. Either would show the bigger ceiling reflects planned quantity, not spare headroom.
Why did the government raise the ceiling so much after a period of low ordering?
The government has not stated how it sized the ceiling. The jump could be headroom for Foreign Military Sales demand. It could be a backlog rebuild after the gap between vehicles. A binding prior ceiling of $39.7 million would also explain it. Early order sizes will separate them.

